I’m a featured writer on Booksie

Back in 2009-2010 I was pretty active on Booksie. For those of you who don’t know, Booksie is a website for people to post novels, poetry, short stories and articles – pretty much, it’s the writers’ equivalent of DeviantART.

I posted a lot of poetry (which, even though I hated, received positive feedback), attempted a novella, and posted the EPIC first draft of my novel. The latter ended up having a cute little following, and by my last chapter (which was in the 90s), a good 30 people were still reading and commenting.

But the pieces that received the most attention, were my anti-Twilight pieces. One was a short story (now posted on this blog), and the other was a list aptly titled “101 Reasons Why the Twilight Saga SUCKS”.

These two pieces were the catalyst for A LOT of onsite drama. There was cyber bullying – not just aimed at me, but to my followers; and my followers fought back – and an influx of PRO-Twilight pieces. In the end, the site was just too negative, so myself and a group of friends ended up leaving. We joined DA instead, but I soon lost interest in that, too.

The thing is, no matter how many “Booksie Fan Awards” I won, or how many hits my Twilight pieces made, I never acheived the dream of being a FEATURED WRITER.

That is, until now. Five days ago, I logged back into Booksie and posted two pieces, completely on a whim. My main goal was to try and generate some traffic back to this blog.

Today, I woke up to several comments, new “fans” and… the surprise of seeing my work on the main page.

Untitled-1

So, there you have it folks. Sometimes dreams do come true. They just happen when you stop holding on to them 🙂

Leave a Reply

